Article Submitted via KIAC SID

KINGSPORT, TN -- The 2016 KIAC Baseball All-Conference Teams & Awards were recognized at the KIAC Baseball Tournament last week at Hunter Wright Stadium in Kingsport, Tenn.


IU Southeast led the awards presentation taking home KIAC Player of Year with catcher Trent Simpson, KIAC Pitcher of the Year with reliever Jarrod Messex and KIAC Coach of the Year with head coach Ben Reel. The Grenadiers (42-13), ranked No. 19 in the latest NAIA Baseball Top 25 Poll, went an impressive 27-1 in the KIAC and also received their award as KIAC Baseball Regular Season Champs. Voted on and selected by the eight KIAC baseball head coaches, the KIAC Baseball All-Conference Teams & Awards included a first team, second team, gold glove team and a champions of character team.


IU Southeast's Trent Simpson was named KIAC Baseball Player of the Year after leading the conference in batting average at .429 (78 for 182), tying for the conference lead with 51 RBIs and ranking fourth in home runs with seven. He caught all 55 games for the Grenadiers and was one of two catchers on the KIAC All-Conference First Team.


IU Southeast's Jarrod Messex was the only relief pitcher on the KIAC All-Conference First Team, and he was selected the overall best pitcher in the conference as KIAC Baseball Pitcher of the Year.


Messex, a senior right-hander, has figured in 15 decisions and appeared in 19 games. He has nine saves to rank 10th in the NAIA, and he is also 6-1 in the win-loss category. Messex has a 1.53 ERA, 42 strikeouts versus six walks and a .192 opponent average. IU Southeast coach Ben Reel earned KIAC Coach of the Year honors by leading the Grenadiers to their fifth KIAC regular-season title. In his eighth year, Reel has guided IU Southeast to a 27-1 conference record, an NAIA Top 25 ranking and several Top 25 victories. The other individual awards had University of Rio Grande freshman catcher Dylan Shockley named KIAC Newcomer of the Year after hitting .336 with four homers and 35 RBIs in 59 games as catcher and Asbury University relief pitcher Joey Johnson named the KIAC Comeback Player of the Year after returning to field to go 2-0 with a 3.65 ERA in 22 appearances on the year. 


The KIAC Baseball All-Conference First Team included four starting pitchers, one relief pitcher, two catchers, first base, second base, third base, shortstop, a fifth infielder, a designated hitter and four outfielders. The KIAC Baseball All-Conference Second Team followed with next vote getters at each position. The KIAC Baseball Gold Glove team was the top defensive player at each position, as voted by the coaches. 


New this year is the KIAC Baseball Champions of Character Team with one player from each school selected as the one who best exemplifies the five character values of the NAIA's Champions of Character initiative of respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership and sportsmanship.


IU Southeast's Ryne Underwood (5-0, 2.41 ERA) led the four starting pitchers on the first team. Other starting pitchers were Rio Grande's Zach Harvey (9-3, 3.26 ERA), Point Park's Jason Kim (5-3, 2.71 ERA) and WVU Tech's Austin Southcott (6-3, 3.06 ERA). The first-team catchers were IU Southeast's Trent Simpson (.429, 7 HR, 51 RBI) and Rio Grande's Dylan Shockley (.336, 4 HR, 35 RBIs). The first team had the right side of the infield from WVU Tech with first baseman Tanner LeVine (.400, 3 HR, 35 RBIs) and second baseman Brady Grosebeck (.325, 2 HR, 38 RBIs). Point Park's Jake Horew (.392, 8 HR, 43 RBIs) was the first-team shortstop, and Rio Grande's Daryin Lewis (.427, 2 HR, 28 RBIs) was first team at third base. Lewis was also a second-team selection at starting pitcher as a dual-role player. Rio Grande first baseman Lance Mantano (.346, 5 HR, 51 RBIs) also earned an infield spot on the first team after tying for the KIAC lead in RBIs. The first-team outfielders were led by Rio Grande's Kirk Yates (.383, 8 HR, 49 RBIs), who finished second in the KIAC Player of the Year voting. Other outfielders were Point Park's Demetrius Moorer (.378, 4 HR, 23 RBIs), IU Southeast's Logan Coughlin (.357, 4 HR, 51 RBIs) and WVU Tech's Dylan Harvey (.410, 3 HR, 33 RBIs).


Below are the full list of KIAC Baseball All-Conference Teams & Awards with First Team, Second Team, Gold Glove and Champions of Character.


KIAC Player of the Year—Trent Simpson, IU Southeast

KIAC Pitcher of the Year—Jarrod Messex, IU Southeast

KIAC Coach of the Year—Ben Reel, IU Southeast

KIAC Newcomer of the Year—Dylan Shockley, Rio Grande

KIAC Comeback Player of the Year—Joey Johnson, Asbury



SP—Ryne Underwood, IU Southeast

SP—Zach Harvey, Rio Grande

SP—Jason Kim, Point Park

SP—Austin Southcott, WVU Tech

RP—Jarrod Messex, IU Southeast

C—Trent Simpson, IU Southeast

C—Dylan Shockley, Rio Grande

1B—Tanner Levine, WVU Tech

2B—Brady Groesbeck, WVU Tech

SS—Jake Horew, Point Park

3B—Daryin Lewis, Rio Grande

IF—Lance Montano, Rio Grande

DH—Clay Benefield, IU Southeast

OF—Kirk Yates, Rio Grande

OF—Demetrius Moorer, Point Park

OF—Logan Coughlin, IU Southeast

OF—Dylan Harvey, WVU Tech



SP—Kyle Sager, WVU Tech

SP—Greg Laughlin, IU Southeast

SP—Daryin Lewis, Rio Grande

SP—Josh Hudson, WVU Tech

RP—Jarrad Brown, Point Park

C—Sebastian Gomez-Herrera, WVU Tech

1B—Kyle Asher, IU Southeast

2B—Judah Wollenburg, Rio Grande

SS—Luis Jimenez, Rio Grande

3B—Cody Maloon, IU Southeast

IF—Andrew Moran, Asbury

OF—Carlos Flores, Rio Grande

OF—Matt Volz, IU Southeast

OF—Doug Prather, WVU Tech

OF—Ethan Skowronski (SO/Cincinnati, OH ), Ohio Christian

OF—Chris Ford, Rio Grande



P – Jason Kim, Point Park

C – Trent Simpson, IU Southeast

1B – Lance Montano, Rio Grande

2B – Brady Groesbeck, WVU Tech

SS – Jake Horew, Point Park

3B – Zach Johnson (Brescia)

LF – Logan Coughlin, IU Southeast

CF – Demetrius Moorer, Point Park

RF – Tyler Adams (IU Southeast)



Asbury -- Andrew Moran

Brescia -- Chad Cox

Cincinnati Christian -- Austin Lenhardt

IU Southeast -- Tyler Adams

Ohio Christian -- Jordan Dicks (JR/Jefferson, PA)

Point Park -- Jarrad Brown

Rio Grande -- Kameron Herring

WVU Tech -- Jayson Sykora